The Art of Collecting

I’ve always been a collector. Squirreling away my treasures for safe keeping in little chests, boxes, and trunks- preserving them until the time came to share my favorite items with others. As a child, I had an affinity for Madame Alexander Dolls (my collection included hand-me-downs from my mother and grandmother and those dolls are still considered my most prized possesions), pencils with wonky and creative erasers, beanie babies (Princess Diana bear, anyone?), and my beloved American Girl collection (complete with original Samantha and her metal bed set).

While my tastes could certainly have been considered eclectic- I mean really, what 5-year-old passionately collects pencils?- I adored building my collections and seeing them evolve over time. Carefully wrapped in tissue paper and boxed up for a time when they can be loved again, the collections of my childhood are priceless and the memories of time spent playing are some of my very favorites.

As an adult, my tastes for collecting have changed. Grown up collections, while different, are no less enjoyable and still get played with just the same. Instead of dressing my dolls and rearranging their table settings for tea parties- I now dress myself and arrange parties with non-imaginary friends and I’ve replaced tea with cocktails.

Shoes

Take that, Barbie! I now have a bigger and better shoe collection than you! That is all.

China & Crystal

Thanks to very generous family and friends, J and I (not that he is overly excited by this) are beginning to collect our first set of china and crystal. We chose simple and elegant patterns (Library Lane from Kate Spadeย & Waterford Lismore) that will be lovely for many years of Holiday’s to come. The platinum band is the perfect compliment to the white china and I’m loving the idea of working these monogram chargers with a touch of color from Horchow into the mix someday.

Pillows

There are no joke 28 Pillows currently on display in this house. 11 in the master bedroom, 11 in the guest bedroom, and 6 on the sofa and that doesn’t event include the Chiang Mai Dragon and Bengal Baazar pillows that I’ve been coveting on Etsy. I think that counts as both an obsession and a collection.

Cookbooks

When pondering how I could have possibly acquired this many cookbooks over a 5-year period, I can’t help but think of the phrase, “Your eyes are bigger than your stomach”. Unfortunately, this statement is incredibly representative of me and my major food cravings. While wandering the aisles of Barnes & Noble during the mid-week lunch rush, and knowing that I’m returning to a salad or chicken makes the mouth-watering, ultra-styled recipes in these books look even more delicious. The Williams-Sonoma collection and ย “On A Stick” by Matt Armendariz are my favorites. In all seriousness, who doesn’t think that food on a stick just tastes better?

Dog Toys

Hello, My name is Ally and I am obsessed with my dog. I can’t even begin to fathom how these toys have piled up the way they have but they are overflowing from Charlie’s toy box and are hidden in every corner of the house. From stuffing-less foxes and squirrel’s, to plush piggies, and ย the pun-tastic Muttstercard Dog Credit Card & Chewy Vuitton Purse– I transferred my stuffed animal obsession from childhood onto my dog. Isn’t there a clinical term for this affliction?

What were your favorite childhood collectables? Any great grown-up collections?

4 thoughts on “The Art of Collecting

  1. We collect the same things! Minus the stuffed dogs ๐Ÿ˜‰ Shoes, cookbooks, and I collect a ceramic set from greengate and mateus and not china – but still pretty close. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: We love the things we love for what they are. {Robert Frost} | A Hepburn in a Hilton World

Leave a Reply

