Friday Favorites

Blooming peonies on the mantle are the perfect start to a wonderful weekend. Before I began my journey into wedding planning I may have been the only girl in the world that didn’t know how short peony season is. As I went to my first of several floral consultations I foolishly said, “I love peonies, let’s have those!” and was met with looks of pity when each florist responded, “You know your wedding is in November right? Many brides plan their weddings around peony season!” So instead of having these beautiful florals at my wedding I will just celebrate and enjoy them now.

I’ve certainly had luck on my side when it comes to wedding planning. To celebrate our engagement we spent a night up where we met in Meredith, New Hampshire and decided then and there on venue, I chose the first wedding gown that I put on, and the band that we wanted just so happened to be available. The hunt for wedding shoes however was a very different experience. With a very specific color palette and a craving for a bit of sparkle and a non-generic shoe, I dragged my poor parents around to 50+ stores in hopes of finding the perfect shoe. On the verge of a large scale meltdown my mom suggested we just check out Christian Dior on our way home. After saying “No” approximately 25 times, my mom grabbed my hand and pulled me into the store. And there they were, my dream shoe. Now safely tucked in my closet until my first dress fitting in a few weeks, I can’t help but take a little peek at them daily.

I’m the first girl in the restaurant bar to drift towards the craft cocktails but sometimes– a crisp classic is the best. Cranberry Vodka with a bit of lime does the trick for a Sunset drink on our new deck with J.

With a new home and a cross country move comes a new space and a new look. I’d been loving the designs of Roxy Owens from Society Social and finally took the plunge on her amazing Draper Accent Table. With faux silver croc and two shelves- it is the perfect place to house great booze. I’ve also been coveting Society Social’s Marilyn Lounge Chair in a pink or navy- what amazing items!

While I love the use of color and pattern in inspirational images, I never seem to be brave enough to work it into my daily life. Working on shaking my overuse of neutrals– this combo of this cozy striped shirt from J. Crew and a bold statement necklace from H&M make an adorable summer outfit.

As mentioned by me many times on this blog– there is nothing as good as stamping your monogram on a new fun item. With my name set to change in just a few short months– I was so excited to get these monogram sunglasses from Pineapple Grove adorned with my future name. Very excited to become Mrs. J in a few short months!

Exploring our new location via different restaurants and bars has been a great experience. Red Table in Huntington Harbor was no exception! With a wide variety of menu options- the Red Table Burger was delicious and the Bacon Chive Aioli that accompanies their sea salt and pepper fries was even better.

 

Leave a Reply

