When I Grow Up

When I was a little girl one of my favorite subjects in which to deliberate ponder was what I was going to be when I grew up.At age 5, I was thoroughly convinced that I was going to become a Veterinarian. I loved animals (I still do), thought that vet’s got to wear cool white coats, and the best part- theyget to pet puppies all day long (how awesome is that?). My long list of dream jobs morphed and changed so many times throughout the years, from fashion photographer, to ballerina, to nurse, to businesswoman, to editor, to fashion designer and another 1,000 random professions that I can’t even begin to explain the reasoning behind.

Where I grew up, it is commonplace that every girl swears that upon high school graduation they will promptly move to NYC and pursue a career at Ralph Lauren or create their own hit line of stunning couture that will grace the covers of Vogue and Elle. Well, I certainly do not have an artistic bone in my body, and while I love fashion, I can’t even cut a piece of fabric in a straight line, let alone sew one. So- Alexandra Lynn Pagar, Fashion Design Extraordinaire went straight out the window.

To my excitement, (and unfortunately many years too late) I just came across a fabulous article in the New York Times about the most fashionable camp around, Camp Couture.

Todd Heisler/The New York Times

Based out of LIM College in Manhattan, Fashion Camp NYC, allows teen fashionistas to dream up their own fashion brands, tour fabulous Manhattan museums, learn to blog, attend lectures by stylists and editors, and experience exclusive shopping at major fashion outposts such as Hermès, Barneys, and Saks masked for parents as crucial field trips known as “market visits.”

Let’s just say, if I could have gone to Fashion Camp NYC, maybe they could have taught me how to sew and I could now be on my way to becoming the next Miuccia Prada. Doubtful, but wow, would that have been amazingly fun. Almost as fun as my very own birthday Tea Party and a stay at the Eloise Suite at the Plaza Hotel.

Leave a Reply

