Lust List: July

With the heat of July upon us, I hope that Boston will finally get a reprieve from all of the rain and gloom we have been having. It is finally time to kick fresh Summer cooking into high gear and break the all white outfits from their dusty place in my closet. Here are some things that I am lusting after for July:

Crushed Red Pepper

I don’t what it is with me and subtle heat lately but I am loving red pepper in everything– especially pastas. With fresh tomatoes showing themselves more frequently it is the perfect time to cook up some awesome tomato sauce with a kick.

Gwyneth Paltrow

I have to admit I was never a Gwyneth Paltrow fan until recently. We both went to The Spence School, but other than that similarity, I never paid much attention to her. Until recently that is. When I saw her stunning gown at the Met Gala this year, I was intrigued.

And then I saw Country Strong– and I was hooked. Ballad-y country music is one of my guilty pleasures and I thought she was amazing in the movie. I loved her representation of Kelly’s struggles and the fact that even when she came back and nailed her performance– it still wasn’t enough.

Country Strong

Loved the movie, loved the music. I may or may not be currently listening to a “Country Strong” station on Pandora. You never know…

Good Times with Great Friends

I love that this month J and I get to spend some quality time with those that we love. Having quality people in your life is the best gift and the best treat. After a long week at work- a great conversation, an awesome cocktail (or in J’s case TY-KU sake), and some time next to a fire pit is the perfect remedy to a stress filled week.

Homegrown Tomatoes and Herbs

It is pretty hilarious that I can keep pets and myself alive but that I am the worlds biggest plant killer. Give me two days tops and that beautiful orchid will be completely brown and shriveled. This year I vowed that I was going to get rid of my brown thumb and grow the worlds best tomatoes. So two MASSIVE plants later, a smattering of cilantro, basil, and rosemary– I am enjoying the wonderful aromas and great taste of fresh homegrown tomato and herbs! Disclaimer: At the very same time I planted my vegetables I planted $50 of florals– guess what? They died after 7 days. I think that makes the fact that all of my edibles are alive and thriving that much more of an accomplishment!

White

With a bronze glow, air dried hair, and simple makeup– all white is my favorite look for summer. It is so crisp and fresh and lasts for such a short time that I savor each and every look. White lace and linen are a great compliment to each other with simple gold accessories or a pair of bright turquoise or coral earrings.

Lululemon

I know that I have mentioned my love of this ultra slimming collection of workout and yoga gear but I honestly can’t rave about it enough. As the girl who literally refused to exercise for the majority of her life, these clothes are not only comfortable; they are motivating! While I used to only swear by their fabulous pants– I am now a convert of their tops as well.

J Crew’s Pre-Fall 2011 Collection

Bravo, Jenna Lyons! Gotta hand it to J Crew– they always deliver stunning clothes– especially for fall. Soft cashmere, perfectly tailored trousers, and the most amazing jackets make J Crew my go-to for all things fall. I can’t wait to see the rest of the collection in person after the anticipation of these sneak peek images!

Leave a Reply

