Recipe Playlist: Superbowl Edition

Let’s play a little game of word association. I say “Football” and you say…

Food or if your J Tom Brady

Well… it should be no surprise that when someone says football, that I think food. Then my next step is burgers, chili, onion rings, wings, queso dip, and most importantly CHEESE.

As a child– football Sunday was a time where we ate yummy wonderful goodness and watched my Dad scream at the TV surrounded by his brothers. Now, I watch J and A and sometimes the other A sit on the couch and scream at the TV or in the case of the Patriots crushing loss to the Jets be stunned into silence. Now that I am the “chef” of the house the role of creating and evolving the football food of my mother has fallen on my shoulders. And I hate to admit it but the more amazing recipes that I find the more interested I become in football or more specifically– football food.

So in honor of the Superbowl– here are my favorite football food recipes of the 2010-2011 season.

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Introduced at an office potluck and changed to suit my need to use homemade chicken here it goes.

Ingredients:
1 package uncooked Chicken tenders
1/2 cup of Franks Red Hot Sauce (I usually add a bit more)
1/2 cup of Ranch Dressing
1 package of softened cream cheese
Salt to taste
Pepper to taste
1 package of Shredded Sharp Cheddar Cheese

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Poach chicken tenders in water until done. Strain and let cool on a plate. Meanwhile, melt cream cheese and whisk until smooth in medium saucepan. Mix ranch dressing and Franks Red Hot until evenly combined. Add chicken and stir until combined. Slowly add shredded Cheddar cheese reserving enough to cover mixture in oven. When evenly combined and perfectly cheesy texture put mixture into baking dish and cover with the rest of cheddar. Bake until cheese is bubbly and browning on the top. Serve with ruffles, tortilla chips and celery sticks.

Let me just say this stuff is amazing. No additional details needed.

BBQ and Onion String Sliders (from Sprinkles of Parsley)

One of my favorite blogs Sprinkles of Parsley posted this recipe here and I fell in love. It is everything you could want out of a slider. Fresh bun, well mixed and flavorful burger, homemade delicious BBQ sauce (the only addition I made to this recipe was to mix some white truffle oil into the BBQ Sauce), tangy salty cheese (I used Cabot Clothbound Cheddar from Formaggio Kitchen– also available at Whole Foods) and perfectly fried buttermilky onion straws. I can’t think of anything that sounds more wonderful. Oh– but I forgot to add that it has Applewood smoked bacon– so I stand corrected. Now, I can’t think of anything that sounds more wonderful.

Buffalo Chicken Potato Skins from Sprinkles of Parsley

Another slice of heaven– the ingredients stand on their own. Baked potato, buffalo chicken, salt, blue cheese. I think I have already said too much. Bravo to Sprinkles of Parsley— you’re awesome!

I hope that you all enjoy your football Sunday! If you need some more delicious recipes be sure to check out my other two favorite Football Food Queens: The Pioneer Woman and Annie’s Eats!

Leave a Reply

