Foodie Favorites: Boston

Another post about food… how surprising? I think that I have become this way because I am a creature of both habit and severe craving. If I try something and love it, I will be back. I am a loyal customer and love to tell people about finding something truly worth eating. While I am certainly guilty of eating things that I don’t like or that don’t taste great, I certainly prefer to seek out the items that I love. I have been known to order separate items take out from several restaurants in order to have the best of all of the things that I am craving.

When I first moved to Boston, I was enamored with all of the endless food possibilities and types of cuisine available at any time. Luckily, I found T- my best foodie friend to inspire me with her shared passion for food and my eyes were opened to so many wonderful places. While the list of favorites grows daily, here are my tried and true picks.

The Beehive

Combine eclectic crystal chandeliers, quality tasting amazing cocktails, live jazz music, and melt in your mouth creative dishes and you get the beehive. It mixes funky, fun, creative, and interesting and takes the culinary and entertainment aspect to a whole new level. I would have to say this is my favorite spot to bring people in Boston and I have never brought someone here who disliked it.

Standouts on the menu I would highly recommend that you try:
Truffled Potato & Cheese Pierogies with Caramelized Onions and Sour Cream
Moroccan Cigars, Lamb-filled Phyllo Spring Rolls
Shortrib, Farmhouse Cheddar & Fontina Grilled Cheese
Saffron & Fennel Seafood Stew, Fish, Mussels, Shrimp, Clams
Cheese and Gravy Frites, (Poutine)

L’Espalier

The first time I had the pleasure of eating at L’Espalier it was still in its old location. As soon as I entered I fell completely in love with both the menu and the decor. The glass elevator through the wine cellar was fantastic and the dress code (jacket and tie recommended) added an instant element of elegance to an already perfect atmosphere.

Chef McClelland crafts an amazing seasonal menu that constantly changes and evolves while keeping the unique raw bar, cheese and caviar menu’s year round. If you love any of those three types of cuisine run to L’Espalier. On the Winter seasonal menu I am coveting the Coddled Cornish hen egg with clothbound cheddar fondue, crisp pancetta, and smoked blood sausage purée, and the White Alba truffles with preserved lemon risotto for the first course. With the Butter-poached Maine lobster with turmeric-braised rutabaga, sweet pepper emulsion, and pear-ginger mousse for the Main Course. Two words: Foodie Heaven.

I can’t think of anything that I would want more than to taste those wonderful dishes while sitting at the “Chef’s Table” where you can watch the magic happen.

The Publick House

This is my go to place. The drinks are amazing, the food is even better and for an incredibly impatient person I do not even mind waiting the usual 40-60 minutes for a table on Friday night. While I am not a big fan of really hoppy beer, I have loved every single drink at The Publick House. I am an even bigger fan of their food.

It is common knowledge on this blog that I LOVE truffles and The Publick House fulfills my constant craving for everything to be “truffled”. Menu favorites are:
Moules Frites- Any Style
Monk’s Frites with McChouffe roasted garlic-asiago mayo, fresh herb mayo, creamy Wostyntje beer mustard, truffle ketchup, chili aioli
Famous Mac & Cheese- orrechetti pasta, five-cheese sauce, choice of add-ins: tomato, mushroom, spinach, caramelized onion, asparagus, cherry pepper, broccoli, bacon, andouille sausage, shrimp, scallop, chicken, truffle cream
House Made Bratwurst- Mayflower Porter marinated, house-made sauerkraut, whole-grain mustard, artisan roll
Publick House Burger- with truffle ketchup YUM

One thought on “Foodie Favorites: Boston

Leave a Reply

