Formaggio Kitchen: Prosciutto, Brie, and Truffles, Oh My!

If you consistently read this blog and have yet to figure out that I am a burgeoning foodie than you may want to have your reading comprehension monitored. Not only do I love to eat food, I like to read about food in books and blogs, shop for food, travel for food, Google food and beg, borrow, and barter for food. The difference is that with me, I am not just talking about any kind of food. I am talking about lip smacking, salty gourmet goodness.

While pursuing my culinary journeys, I realized that wilty produce from Trader Joe’s (Which I do love, just not the produce) and the deranged meat section of Shaw’s just wasn’t going to cut it anymore. So, I began to research the best markets in Boston and made a point to visit each and every one of the locations on my list. After many journeys, cheese tastings, and hours grocery shopping, I have come to the conclusion that the best of Boston is Formaggio Kitchen.

Located in my favorite Boston-area neighborhood Huron Village (directions and hours visit Formaggio Kitchen online) the store is separated into 3 sections: In the first room: prepared foods, antipasto bar, meat and cheese counter and wine, the second room: desserts (both in glass cases and shelved), fine chocolates, a wall of honey, coffee, jams and jelly’s, in the third room: non-alcoholic beverages, rare micro-brewed beer, hard to find ripe fruit, vegetables, fresh truffles, flours, breads, and pantry type items.

My favorite part of Formaggio Kitchen is by far the first room. This room houses all of my favorite things: double creme soft cheese, goat cheese, bleu cheese, Cabot cloth-bound cheddar aged 24 months, cave aged Gruyere, heaps of amazing Parmesan cheese and Prosciutto di Parma. I know those don’t sound that appetizing but even J loves every purchase from this place and he is not big on ripe or soft cheeses. Not only is the selection better than any cheese shop I have been to in the US, all of their staff are experts on the products. When I ask for something by taste when the name of the cheese escapes me, they always know what I am talking about.

Additionally, their vast array of truffle oils, butters, and salts are out of this world and the pre-paired wine selection is on point and reasonably priced. The several tasting displays are always amazing and introduce me to a new cheese every time I visit Formaggio Kitchen. If you are going to miss all of the farmers markets come later this month, I suggest you visit Formaggio Kitchen immediately. Saturday is a great time as they host their famous Formaggio BBQ which LITERALLY has a line around the block and the best things sell out early.

If you without a car, you can always visit their smaller location South End Formaggio on Shawmut Avenue in the South End for a smaller but equally impressive selection. Speaking of South End Formaggio, my darling baby Little walked in the SNOW at Christmas to purchase me cheese and a gift card from this place because she knew how much I loved it. I literally cried at how sweet and thoughtful she is, just wanted to say thank you to my little for being the sweetest person ever and for sharing my love of all things gourmet!

One thought on “Formaggio Kitchen: Prosciutto, Brie, and Truffles, Oh My!

Leave a Reply

