The Art of the Sample Sale

Growing up in New York City and then in East Hampton, NY the plethora of sample sales and sample sizes were always abundant. As a small person, I was always in luck as my size is usually the same as the sample and if you arrive early you are sure to score the best bargains and steals. In recent years since I moved to Boston and Los Angeles, I unfortunately do not have access to some of my favorite sample sale shopping events such as Lucky Shops in NYC, the Shoe Inn warehouse sale in Amagansett, NY and the Seasonal Scoop NY sale where my best find was a quilted Marc Jacobs bowler bag for $350 reduced from $1,400.

Like many women I am drawn to the unique, classy and expensive items that in most cases are unattainable and unrealistic for a recent college graduate just starting out in her career. In the past 3 years, my shopping interests have expanded to include home and kitchen items. In search of the beautiful items I covet, I am always looking for the best deal I can possibly find. The internet has made this search increasingly easy with shopping powerhouses like Shop Bop, eBay, Shop It To Me and Etsy. The internet created a new and unique forum for the “sample sale” to reach everyone regardless of geographic location. Here are some of my favorite e-sample sales:

One Kings Lane

As a burgeoning “domestic diva” I have only recently started having an interested in both decorating and food prep. In an effort to change my eating habits I have tried to cut out the processed food and only eat things I make myself! No more packaged and frozen junk for me! One Kings Lane has made this incredibly easy for me. From stocking one of my favorite lunch must-haves Built to organic candles, Missoni pillows, Thomas Paul accessories and cute little pet items for Charlie, One Kings Lane has all of the items I need to update and create both amazing space and food in my apartment!

Rue La La

Mother of the online sample sale, Rue La La has come out of the gate and branded themselves as the first and best in the category. While they carry favorite brands for men and women such as Theory, BCBG, Burberry, Paige Denim, C&C, 7 for all Mankind, La Perla, Diane von Furstenberg and Yves Saint Laurent; Rue La La has recently added travel to elegant resorts on Nantucket, cooking products from heavy hitters like All Clad and Cuisinart and most recently reserve wines from vineyards such as Duck Horn. Rue La La has also created a cult- like following where members flock to the website at 11AM daily in order to reserve the amazing steals for themselves. With special sales featuring stunning one of a kind vintage Chanel this website is a must see. Follow them on Twitter @ruelala for some great sample sale and outfit advice!

Gilt Group

While I have been a member of Gilt for awhile I am not as avid of a shopper with their site. I love their jewelry sales of funky pieces from Kenneth Jay Lane but find the margin on their clothing just not a good enough deal for me most of the time. Their newly expanded Gilt City function however, is amazing. Showing a daily selection of location based products, services and event deals you are able to score spa services for as little at $40! Nothing can beat a 60 minute massage at a great spa for that price!

Leave a Reply

