Candle in the Wind

Let’s start this with a preface that I love music. All genres, all types, especially live music. So to start my morning off, I blasted the radio pretty loud this morning. Living in Boston, I would have to say the radio stations predominantly can never decide which genre they are going to play and like to consistently switch it up. So after Audioslave left the airwaves, I was surprised to hear one of my favorite songs and one that always makes me think: Elton John’s Candle in the Wind tribute to Princess Diana.

“Goodbye England’s rose
May you ever grow in our hearts
You were the grace that placed itself
Where lives were torn apart
You called out to our country
And you whispered to those in pain
Now you belong to heaven
And the stars spell out your name

And it seems to me you lived your life
Like a candle in the wind
Never fading with the sunset
When the rain set in
And your footsteps will always fall you
Along England’s greenest hills
Your candle’s burned out long before
Your legend never will

Loveliness we’ve lost
These empty days without your smile
This torch we’ll always carry
For our nation’s golden child
And even though we try
The truth brings us to tears
All our words cannot express
The joy you brought us through the years”

Now, I always loved Princess Diana. Not only was she a Princess but she was awesome. I can wholeheartedly say that she was one of my idols growing up and she was a non-dumb blonde which made it even better. I remember the day she died and how I heard in full Technicolor detail. In August of 1997 I was 9. I was sleeping over at my childhood friend Samantha’s house in Bridgehampton and when we woke up both of our Mom’s were out in the kitchen and they were playing scenes of the crash and the car on TV. I remember feeling really very sad. That was my first real experience with death outside of my pet snail Spot in Kindergarten and a few street fair fish.

To this day I wonder if the world felt her death so strongly, how did her children feel? I will never forget her or that moment. As we approach the 13th Anniversary of her death next month, I began to think about how those that are gone are never really forgotten.

Many people I love have lost someone they love this week. My best friend from high school JS lost her sweet Grandmother, my high school classmate Scott passed away this week and it was the 5 year anniversary of another high school classmate Patrice’s death. While these people are gone from our lives for now, they are never forgotten. All it takes is the beginning of a song, or a smell, or an image to remember.

So this week as I think about all of my friends and their families I vow to always remember. I hope you will too.

Leave a Reply

